OUR MISSION

We build community and leadership through educational Spanish language and cultural immersion programs.

OUR VISION

We envision an equitable society strengthened by the power, knowledge, and value of Latin American languages and cultures.

ACTIONS

Give primarily low-income, Spanish-speaking students the opportunity to gain literacy skills in their native language of Spanish

Lessen the academic opportunity gap between Hispanic/Latino and non-Hispanic/Latino students

Support students as they learn about their Latin American cultural heritage and navigate their own unique multicultural experiences

Provide Spanish-speaking parents access to resources to raise happy, healthy, bilingual families

Bridge the gap between Hispanic/Latino and non-Hispanic/Latino communities through a shared interest in the Spanish language

OUR STORY

+150

Students

+60 HOURS

Classes of Cultural Immersion

YOGA

Parents

+14

Countries

+1800 Hours

Volunteers

+70 Videos

In Youtube for Kids

ACADEMIC SUCCESS

Hispanic / Latino students make up
25% of school populations.

Hispanic/Latino students have the
highest drop out rates.

Hispanic and Latino students face racial, linguistic, and cultural discrimination. Many of these bright students internalize these external prejudices and see their bilingualism and multiculturalism as a disadvantage.

Why Spanish Immersion?

1

The curriculum includes strategies based on the Hispanic/Latin American educational model that incorporates the stories, traditions and geography of Spanish-speaking countries into each lesson.

2

Having a teacher of the same race/ethnicity as the student has a positive effect on student achievement, teachers’ behavioral assessments, graduation rates, and college enrollment

3

Studies have shown that literacy skills gained in Spanish are actually transferable to English and any other language a child speaks.

SAY HI! TO
OUR TEAM

Jenice Ramirez
Executive Director
jenice@laislaschool.org

Susana Benites
Program Director of Education Programs
susana@laislaschool.org

Lady Johana Flores
Finance Manager & Human Resources
ladyjohana@laislaschool.org

Cindy Salazar
Education Programs Manager
cindy@laislaschool.org

Alejandra Sandoval
Parent & Community Outreach Coordinator
alejandra@laislaschool.org

Bryan Ramirez
Marketing & Design Manager
bryan@laislaschool.org

Natalia Rivadeneyra
Policy Research &
Advocacy Manager
natalia@laislaschool.com

Antonio Alanis
Development & Communications Manager
antonio@laislaschool.org

Josue Cordova
Executive Director Assistant
josue@laislaschool.com

Hayden Loeb
Volunteer Coordinator
volunteers@laislaschool.com

BOARD MEMBERS

Mary Jones
President

Jennifer de Lima
Vice President

Kimberly Grainger
Treasurer

JJ Richardson
Secretary

Aerin Benavides
Board Member

Dayson Pásion
Board Member

Ingeborg Andrews
Board Member

Dania Santana
Board Member

Chessa Rich
Board Member

OUR SPONSORS