ISLA Los Sábados is a weekly educational heritage language immersion program for children ages 3 to 17 that aims to close the opportunity gap and open doors for Hispanic/Latino youth, their families and community.

WHAT IS HERITAGE LANGUAGE?

1

A heritage language refers to the language of one's ancestry or culture and is often taught in the home by someone's family or learned in addition to a person's primary language.

2

Maintaining a heritage language is important for children and grandchildren of immigrants to connect them culturally and linguistically to their ancestors/family history.

3

Studies have shown that literacy skills gained in a student's home language are actually transferable to English and any other language a child speaks.

 

A TYPICAL DAY AT ISLA

CULTURAL
EDUCATION

Our goal is to foster a sense of pride and love for Hispanic/Latino culture in our free, Spanish heritage language classes. The curriculum includes strategies based on the Hispanic/Latin American educational model that incorporates the stories, traditions and geography of Spanish-speaking countries into each lesson.

INQUIRY AND EXPLORATION

We believe we all learn best when we are actively experiencing the world. ISLA's classes are inquiry-based and guided by our students' interests and curiosity. We also believe that students acquire a deeper knowledge through active exploration of real-world challenges and problems through project based learning.

INTERDISCIPLINARY APPROACH

ISLA uses an integrated interdisciplinary approach to teach language, while supporting students’ development of their cultural identities. We work across disciplines to draw upon literacy, arts and STEM as students work through authentic, real-world learning experiences.

FACTS ABOUT ISLA LOS SABADOS

+150

Students

+60 HOURS

Classes of Cultural Immersion

YOGA

Parents

+14

Countries

+1800 Hours

Volunteers

+70 Videos

In Youtube for Kids

AND MORE ACTIVITIES

STAFF 2021-22

PRE-K (3)

Melissa Smolski M
melissa@laislaschool.org
281-745-4021

Evelyn Puertos Fernandez A
evelyn@laislaschool.org
(919) 609-3434

PRE-K (4)

Maria Jaime Ledesma M
maria@laislaschool.org
919-932-0696

Kelly Rodriguez Brenis A
kelly@laislaschool.org
336-290-3943

KINDER

Indira Crespo-Bautista M
indira@laislaschool.org
919-633-4430

Miriam Guerrero A
miriam@laislaschool.org
919-886-9230

1RO

Julia S. Arriaga M
julia@laislaschool.org
919-358-2483

Samuel Maldonado A
samuel@laislaschool.org
772-206-6509 

2DO

Cristina Rodriguez-Castro M
cristina@laislaschool.org
919-370-2997

Blanca de Fatima Gonzalez de Lerzundy A
blanca@laislaschool.org
919-717-7068

3RO

Soledad Oneto M
soledad@laislaschool.org
561-317-1710

Patricia Gómez A
patricia@laislaschool.org
984-209-8823

4TO

Evelia Brenis Escamilla M
evelia@laislaschool.org
919-279-5028

Maria Guadalupe Franco A
guadalupe@laislaschool.org
919- 358-3497

5TO Y 6TO

Jacqueline Salazar M
jacqueline@laislaschool.org
919-282-6388

Sonia Ramirez A
sonia@laislaschool.org
919-599-3860 

7MO Y 8VO

Veronica Lisset Garcia M
lisset@laislaschool.org
919-697-2248

Marcela Calderón A
marcela@laislaschool.org 

9NO - 12VO

Nodia Mena M
nodia@laislaschool.org
646-298-4229

TESTIMONIALS

Frequently asked questions

How is the sign up process for my kid?

Where are the classes held?

Once I register my child(ren), does that mean that they have been admitted to the program?

My child does not speak Spanish but does understand it. Does he/she qualify for ISLA Los Sábados?

I'm on the waitlist, what does that mean?

Is there a cost to this program?

My child is not 3 yet, but can I go ahead and put him/her on the waitlist?